www.iraqbodycount.org
notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Holy crap, an update!!!
May 25, 2003 @ 5:00 P.M.

Let's see.... the week. Worked all week, and now that Katharine's working overnights during the summer, went to bed all by my lonesome. The weekend made up for it, though. Friday we got to spend the whole evening together. It was great. Then on Saturday, we spent the whole day at the horse farm. We went on a pretty long trail ride. I got to ride Matt again(Remember that one? The one that was a total bitch to me?). He loves trail rides. We had a blast. I got to canter for the first time, which is faster than a trot, and slower than a gallop(just in case you didn't know :p). Then on saturday night, we went to my friend BoB's going away party. He got accepted to grad school in California. He's studying film. I think he'll do pretty well out there. Mark came with us. He's been pretty down lately, and we wanted to cheer him up a bit. Seemed to work pretty well. Today, we went on another trail ride. We took Mark along for that ride, also. He loves horses, and we figured it'd be fun for him. Well, this time around, I got to ride a horse I've never saddled up on before. His name is T-Boy. Mark got to ride one of T-Boy's best friends, Deck. Katharine was in the lead, with Mark in the middle(the least experienced rider should always be in the middle), and I was taking up the rear. Unfortunately, T-Boy had not been out on a trail ride in a really long time, and was very excited to be out an about. Why is this unfortunate? Simple. He kept trying to take the lead. Some horses are kinda competitive by nature. Actually, most of them are. This is why they usually do so well in races. They don't just train to win because we want them to, they want to as well. Not ideal when you're trying to take a slow trek down a brushy path. Well anyway, on the way back, T-Boy realized where we were, and decided that he wanted to get ahead of everyone. So he started of into a pretty brisk trot. I was amused by it, but then without any commands issued, he broke off into a canter. Damn good thing that Katharine had showed me how to canter the day before. I issued a halt command to him, but he ignored me. He was having way too much fun to stop. He rounded a corner, and found himself in a wide open area, so he did the only logical thing... Broke off into a full gallop. That was a first for me, but I managed to stay in the saddle. I kept trying to get him to slow down(later, Katharine explianed to me that saying 'woah!' louder causes an opposite affect.... I probably could have guessed), but he kept going faster and faster. I pulled the reigns back to my chest, and he finally slowed down, and stopped. You aren't supposed to do that unless all else fails, but by that point, all else had, in fact, failed. Even though I was a bit unnerved by the fact that I had no idea where T-Boy was going, I had a prety good time. If I/we can get him to calm down a little bit, he'd be a fun horse to ride regularly. I still like Matt a bit better on trail rides, though.

Anyway, that's been my week. I'm going on vacation on Thursday, until Tuesday of the following week. Should be fun.

Later

Previous | Next

Old Stuff
Bye bye - July 22, 2003
Fired - July 10, 2003
Shame on you, Google! - July 4, 2003
Well well well - July 1, 2003
ACK! - June 30, 2003

host

Come get reviewed too!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com