www.iraqbodycount.org
notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Hmmmm....
October 23, 2002 @ 11:15 A.M.

Awful thing happened on the way to work today. A pretty nasty car wreck happened right in front of me. It's actually a very odd story in and of itself....

As you probably know allready, my car isin't doing very well right now. In order to get to work safely, I have to take a route that involves slow driving, so I generally get off the Interstate once the speed limit goes above 60. Well, the exit ramp was congested, so I was waiting for a turn to hop onto the back roads, and begin my leisurely 1 hour drive to Hammond. There were several cars waiting to turn left onto the interstate that I just exited off of. In the opposite direction, everyone was piled into the left lane, waiting to hop onto the interstate going the opposite direction(into Baton Rouge.. worker's commute). So the people waiting to take a left on the Interstate going the same way I was going(towards Hammond). There were about 4 cars total. Since everyone was waiting to turn to get on the interstate going in the opposite direction, the lane was backed up, and no one was moving. This made it possible for the 4 cars waiting to go onto the interstate towards Hammond to go ahead and turn, even though they didn't have an arrow. The first car creeped to the edge, made sure that no cars were coming, and went through just fine. The second was a bit bolder, the third didn't hesitate at all, and I'm guessing that the fourth didn't even realize that she didn't have an arrow on the turn. While I'm watching them do this, I'm thinking to myself, "Now this is an accident just begging to happen." I hate it when I'm right. As the last car was about halfway through the intersection, a little yellow Ford Focus came through, and plowed right into it. The Focus spun a few times from the impact, and the old Caddilac that was trying to make the turn landed in a ditch. Wouldn't you know it.. about 3 seconds later, my light turned green. I pulled across the street, and got out to check on the people that were involved. No one else stopped. Sickening the way diffusion of responsability works, isin't it? There were 2 girls in the Focus.. looked like Highschoolers. I'm guessing that they were beating a yellow light, because my light turned green so soon after it happened. Anyway, they were badly shaken up, but otherwise they were ok. The woman driving the Caddie, on the other hand, wasn't getting out of her car. I still don't know if it was fear, or injury, but she could barely move. The 2 girls from the Focus had a cell phone, and I had them call 911 for police, and an ambulance. I talked to the lady in the Caddie until the Fire Department came, and left. During all of this, only 2 other vehicles stopped. One was a RN who started checking out the woman in the Caddie, and one pulled over to see if we needed a phone... then left. That's sort of been sitting heavily on my mind ever since. No one seemed to care. I know that there really wasn't much that I could do in the situation, but at least I stopped, and tried to calm the two younger girls down, and reassure the woman in the Caddie. How long before a Fire Department made it? 10 minutes? 2 hours? There is no time when something like that is happening. I'm sure that at least 50 cars passed by, and only one stopped. One pulled over, and I was on a different road. Sorry to harp on it so much, but I'm really disgusted with my fellow man right now. I'll try to post something more upbeat later on.

Later

Previous | Next

Old Stuff
Bye bye - July 22, 2003
Fired - July 10, 2003
Shame on you, Google! - July 4, 2003
Well well well - July 1, 2003
ACK! - June 30, 2003

host

Come get reviewed too!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com