www.iraqbodycount.org
notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Tech Call
November 12, 2002 @ 12:20 P.M.

Me: "I-55 Internet Services. This is Jason speaking, how may I help you?"

Customer: "Yeah, I'm getting a 'No dial tone' error."

Me: "Okay, Mam, let me pull up your account. (*Dum de dum dum dum*)... Okay, lets make sure that everything's plugged in okay. (*Check everything.. checks out fine*) Okay, Mam, we'll need to pull everything out of your startup, and reboot your machine. (*Do that... still doesen't work*) Okay, Mam, we're going to need to troubleshoot the actual phone outlet now. (*Gave her instructions on how to plug a phone into her outlet, and see if there is a dial tone.*) Allright, Mam, go ahead and try that, I'm going to have to hop off of the phone. I'll call you back in three or four minutes.

Customer: "Allright."

*Terminated phone call. Added comments to the account, and then called customer back*

Me: "Allright, Mam, what happened when you plugged the phone in?"

Customer: "We didn't get a dial tone."

Me: "Allright, this indicates that your phone line that you use for internet access is not functioning, and you need to contact your phone company. They'll need to see what it's going to take to get your phone back online, so that you can connect to the internet."

Customer: "Why? It was working fine yesterday. I JUST had the computer worked on!"

Me: (Some people just don't get it)"Mam, as far as I can tell, the computer is fine. The computer is accurate when it detects no dial tone. The internet service is still working, but the phone line is not. That is why you can't get online. Your computer is fine, and the servers are all up. The phone line is necessary in order to get on the internet, but your phone line is down. We cannot help you with this problem. Only your phone company can."

Customer: "I don't understand..."

Shoot me.........

Later

Previous | Next

Old Stuff
Bye bye - July 22, 2003
Fired - July 10, 2003
Shame on you, Google! - July 4, 2003
Well well well - July 1, 2003
ACK! - June 30, 2003

host

Come get reviewed too!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com