www.iraqbodycount.org
notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

My computer locked up
November 5, 2002 @ 3:10 P.M.

And now I have to start over. That's a shame.

I guess Saturday morning would be the best starting point. I got to the market at 10 A.M. Kelly wasn't there. Somewhere in the recesses of my mind, I deduced that She was no longer working at the market, and that I'd never see her again. Don't misunderstand. I don't wish Her any misfortune, but I just couldn't bear the idea of working next to her every weekend.

It really doesen't matter, though. She came in around noon. When She saw me, She smiled, and waved at me. I waved back, and started looking for customers to talk to, to try and occupy my time. Fortunately, I was very busy.

Kelly was not.

In fact, She had nothing at all to do. No customers. So She started wandering around my general area. Every time She walked by, She'd smile.

Some things never change, I suppose.

Kelly smiles every time She passes me. Once, while we were dating, I asked Her why. She simply replied, "I dunno, you just make Me want to smile."

Torture.

Since I was too busy to talk to Her, She decided to make some chit-chat with the woman that works the booth between mine, and Hers. It didn't look like She was going anywhere any time soon.

More torture.

This continued throughout the day.... 6 hours of Kelly. By the end of the day, not talking to Her was worse than avoiding her. Finally, just as I was about to start closing up shop, Kelly found Her oppourtunity to talk to me.

"Hey, I never thought I'd see you again. I'm glad that you're here. I wanted to apoligize to you."

Apoligize? What for? For being so right, then vanishing? TWICE? For turning my world upside down? THRICE? For making me worry about You, and have no concern for myself at all. Even though someone had hit me so hard that there was blood in my urine for days?

"Apoligize?"

"Yeah, I'm really sorry that I missed that concert that you were going to take Me to."

Concert??! Who gives a fuck about the concert? How about for vanishing? How about for never trying to talk to me for almost three years? How about taking what could have, and should have been one of the best nights of my life, and camping out in the back of my mind. Always there, reminding me that I had no idea where You were, or what had happened to You.

"......... It's ok. You don't need to apoligize for the concert."

"I just wanted to, I felt bad about it."

Not as bad as I feel right now. I guarantee it. Two and a half years or so ago, that apology may have meant something. You don't need to be sorry for the concert anymore. If You must feel sorry, feel sorry for the right reasons.

"Yeah."

It's amazing how much one word can mean.

So then we chatted a bit, and I left for my parents. My boss at the market has a few items that he wants to auction off, and he wanted me to get a digital camera to take some pictures of them. My cheap little camera wasn't going to cut it, so I borrowed one of my Dad's cameras.

Tomorow is another day, after all.

I went back up there on Sunday. Kelly was there, of course. She's eight months pregnant. The shop she works at sells hammacks. I helped her set a few things up. She doesen't need to be climbing ladders. A person at the booth next to her was scolding Her for trying to do such things when She's pregnant. She then applauded me for being so chivalrous. I just smiled and told the woman it wasn't a big deal. Then the lady asked us a question.

"Are you Her husband?"

Kelly.............blushed. Smiled.

I wasn't smiling. Wasn't blushing, either.

"I'm nobody's husband," was about the only answer I could come up with quick enough. I went off to open up the knife shop.

I was even busier than I was the day before.

Kelly was just as slow.

She spent the day same as before.. chatting with the woman in the booth between us. One of the vendor's daughters came to harass me. Fourteen years old. I don't remember being that bold when I was her age. I was actually glad that she was there. Anything to keep me occupied, so that Kelly wouldn't come strike up another conversation. This would have been fine, but I still needed to take pictures for the auction. As soon as I started doing that, everyone came to investigate.

So did Kelly.

I took care of all that, and around that time, it was time to close shop. Kelly was still around for all of this, and She chatted with me a bit throughout it all.

She's pleasant, just as before, but jaded now.

Anyway, that's about the long and short of my weekend.

Hope you read it all.

Later

Previous | Next

Old Stuff
Bye bye - July 22, 2003
Fired - July 10, 2003
Shame on you, Google! - July 4, 2003
Well well well - July 1, 2003
ACK! - June 30, 2003

host

Come get reviewed too!
Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com